Ihmiset piknikillä Espalla.

Non-discrimination commission

The purpose of the Non-Discrimination Commission is to promote non-discrimination in all city operations and services. The commission aims to bring non-discrimination into the mainstream and include non-discrimination impact assessments as an overarching principle in all city operations.

The commission’s principal task is to monitor the execution and progress of the service non-discrimination plan. Other tasks of the commission include the promotion of non-discriminatory conduct in city services. The first term of the Non-Discrimination Commission started in autumn 2017.

The commission is appointed by the city board and includes seven elected officials from different political parties. The work of the Non-Discrimination Commission is organised by a rapporteur, who also coordinates the city’s operative non-discrimination work. The commission meets once a month, except in the summer.

The Non-Discrimination Commission works closely with the Gender Equality Commission and also the city’s special councils, as necessary. The Non-Discrimination Commission executes its function by hearing from experts and issuing statements.


Deputy member
Päivi Kiili-Laakko, National Coalition Party Enni Ikonen
Katja Mannerström, Greens, vice-chair Tommi Vilppula
Milo Toivonen, Greens Tekla Kosonen
Anita Hellman, Social Democratic Party, chair Timo Kontio
Jonne Juntura, Social Democratic Party Arja-Katariina Ylänkö
Binar Mustafa, Left Alliance Elina Vainikainen
Byoma Tamrakar, Swedish People’s Party Pentti Pieski